Switch Content View

The Seven Quality Elements

There are seven major quality framework elements. Using them to drive improvements will result in a sustainable stewardship of the asset portfolio for future generations. These elements are:

  • Life Cycle Process and Practices
  • Asset Information Support Systems
  • Data and Knowledge
  • Service Delivery
  • Organizational Issues
  • People Issues
  • Total Asset Management Plans.



Detailed information on the quality elements is found in the Asset Management Guidelines area of Levels 2 and 3 in SIMPLE.

The seven quality elements are broken down into 23 secondary elements:


Processes and Practices of the Asset Portfolio Life Cycle

  • Demand Analysis
  • Knowledge of Assets
  • Asset Accounting and Cost/Costing
  • Strategic Planning (Life Cycle)
  • Capital Expenditure Validation and Approval Process
  • Business Risk Assessment and Management
  • Asset Creation & Acquisition Process
  • Asset Rationalization & Disposal
  • Asset Operations
  • Asset Maintenance
  • Work / Resource Management
  • Review Audit (Continuous Improvement Processes)

Asset Information (Support) Systems

  • Primary Applications
  • Secondary Applications
  • Tertiary (Life Cycle) Applications
  • General Overall Information System Issues

Data and Knowledge (Data Availability/Quality)

  • Primary Data
  • Secondary Data
  • Tertiary Data


Service Delivery (Contestability/Contracted Service Provision)


Organizational Issues


People Issues


Total Asset Management Plans


These elements are then further broken down to 163 tertiary elements. The quality of the elements dictates the ultimate quality, or confidence level, that can be derived from a plan.

previous home next
Quality Framework   Achieving Best Appropriate Practice